Brainstorming…

So after this weeks class I have been trying to brainstorm different ways to use kidspiration and inspiration in the art room. I am having trouble coming up with using it for anything other than brainstorming, comparing artists, and perhaps crits. I did like how it had a planning section, and I did think that would be useful for sub plans. All too often when I sub in schools, the plans are scattered and do not make any sense. I thought the planning template was a great resource. Does anyone have any ideas as to how kidspiration and inspiration could link better with art education?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Steve Ransom
    Feb 11, 2010 @ 11:30:56

    I’m passing on your question to my network of teachers. Perhaps they will give you some ideas here.

    Reply

  2. dcarinc0
    Feb 13, 2010 @ 19:27:09

    I agree ashley, I too am having trouble thinking of how inspirationa and kidspiration could be used more effectively in the classroom besides the ideas that you listed. I was glad that we got to see some links on inspiration of possible lesson plans

    Reply

  3. Ann!
    Feb 15, 2010 @ 19:43:14

    What if they used it for developing ideas?
    Taking drawing classes in high school I had to create a concentration of work. I had a few ideas for concentrations and wrote them down, along with art work ideas and little sketches for each idea. I ended up choosing the concentration for which i had the strongest ideas and compositions. maybe it could be used in this way? it helped me make lists so i could organize my thoughts. inspiration could be another way of doing this.

    Reply

  4. Derrall Garrison
    Feb 22, 2010 @ 10:44:00

    I’ve used them in numerous ways and haven’t really used the built in templates. With Kidspiration I’ve had the students use the drawing tools to create buttons for navigation on their wiki page or powerpoint after creating a navigation web. I have the students use a template which they print so that one side has a vocabulary word and the other side is their illustration for the word. You can export a HTML file that uses art and embed web links so it becomes a homepage that can be used to navigate the internet. Don’t forget that you can also import images that have been scanned or drawn from other programs they just have to be in .jpg format.

    Reply

  5. Obe Hostetter
    Feb 22, 2010 @ 20:15:47

    Kidspiration does allow a user to draw using the drawing tools. I would have students draw and then label their drawings or make up a picture story book, comic strip etc. I would try these two websites for ideas:
    1. http://www.rockingham.k12.va.us/resources/kidspiration.htm
    2. http://www.inspiration.com/community/lessons-and-ideas

    Reply

  6. Stephen Ransom
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 10:36:37

    See… the comments can keep on coming!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

