Wheel Throwing…

In ceramics we are are wheel throwing. I like it because it allows me to make beautiful functional and non functional pots that have the craftsmanship that I was trying to get in hand building. Wheel throwing is SOOOO frustrating though! It takes lots and lots and LOTS of practice to be decent at throwing on the wheel, and commuting from Syracuse does not allow me to get up to the studio as often as I should. SO hopefully we will see how I do. The good thing about this class is that we get to resubmit projects at the end of the year, so even if my pottery isn’t so great for next week, I can keep throwing through out the semester and hopefully get better!

Centering the clay.

Opening up the floor of the clay after it is centered.

Starting to pull the clay up.

Clay almost ready to be trimmed and taken off to dry.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rachel
    Oct 19, 2010 @ 21:11:29

    i’ve always wanted to try this – try pottery…learn pottery making. this is sweet! you look like a bad a$$ 😉

    Reply

    • Ms. Ashley Eipp
      Oct 20, 2010 @ 09:47:24

      hahahah i don’t know if I look that cool but I am working on it! They just came out of the kiln last night and are all glazed. After my midterm I will post pictures of them! I tried a black glaze on three of my pots and I LOVE how they look. A couple others came out…eh alright. I have eight total including a little baby teapot/ creamer pourer and sugar catty. hehe

      Reply

Leave a Reply

