Font Face

Our second project for my Grad Graphic Design class was to create a face using ONLY fonts/texts.  We started with just a headshot of whoever, turned it to grayscale, and then in Photoshop we changed it to the main 3-4 values (shadow, midtone, highlight). We then used text in those specific tones to draw our faces. Each person in my class attacked this project differently. I chose to type each text individually and literally draw with my text. Some people used a stamping method which gives a different affect and is quicker. Everyone’s projects turned out great and this is a really neat idea for high school kids. It is a great way to learn a lot of different techniques in Photoshop. Here are pictures of my process:

Shawn was my subject 🙂 This is the picture I used for my project.

I changed the photo to grayscale.

Then in Photoshop I limited the values to 3 (shadow, midtone, highlight).

This is the final project. It is done in all text.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ila
    Mar 15, 2016 @ 22:14:57

    Hey,
    Love what u did with the Font face. How did u go about limiting yourself to three colors in Photoshop. I would like to do a similar project. Please let me know.

    Thank you

    Reply

Leave a Reply

