The Jones Family Portrait Session

It is always fun and challenging for me to take photos for people that I am close with. I know the stakes are high and I have to deal with these people on a daily basis so I better do a good job. A part of this challenge is figuring out different poses and places since I don’t like to repeat myself if at all possible. So setting up the Jones Family Portrait session was challenging but fun. We started out just in their back yard and ended up across the street at the school since the scenery was so lit with the autumn colors of fall. I think their pictures turned out great and I had a really fun time on their shoot.

This picture is a good example of how bright the sun was over the weekend and made it VERY difficult to get pictures without blown out areas. I tried to find shade for most of the photoshoot.

 

During these photoshoots I obviously am trying to improve my compositions, ideas, and quality of photographs. I have recently started to shoot in a semi-manual setting which is helping me with my focal points. I think this setting is especially helpful when I am doing larger groups like the Jones Family because I was able to get everyone in focus. I am hopefully going to force myself to shoot completely in manual, but I need to keep practicing and get better at changing the aperture and shutter speed faster and more efficient.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rachel
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 22:04:59

    you have such a good eye, ash! i love the variety of poses. and the fun, relaxed ones are my favorite…the girls jumping, the family pic with everyone casually touching the other…good job! i’m also just starting to shoot in manual and learning about aperture and shutter speed and ISO and all the other things i have no idea what they are! i totally get your learning to find your settings more efficiently…it takes me 10 shots for every moment i’m trying to capture just to get the right lighting, etc. keep it up! 😉

    Reply

  2. Ms. Ashley Eipp
    Oct 20, 2010 @ 09:54:23

    THANKS RACH!!! and yea- I use the Tv setting because it is half manual half automatic usually. It is quicker but you still have control over what you are doing. I found this gives me better focus control and lighting which in the end gives me better white balance. If you need any help or pointers let me know! Most of my training is in black and white film, but I have taken one class in digital and have been basically teaching myself. I love that you are into photography- just goes to show the four of us are PERFECT!! hehe 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

