Destination Wedding

On New Years Day I did my first destination wedding. The wedding was in Lake Placid, NY- which is about a four hour drive from home. The driving was nothing though- once we got to Lake Placid I was in heaven! Lake Placid is such a quaint and quiet little town- it was all lit up at this time of year though with excited buzzing from people eager to get to the mountains. We got a little “lost” and got to see the ski slopes of Whiteface Mountain. If I was more into skiing- this would be an ideal place to spend a couple weeks- so is the lodge where the wedding was held. This was a very small, romantic wedding held at the Whiteface Lodge. The lodge itself was AMAZING! Shawn and I could not stop saying, ” Oh wow” “LOOK AT THAT!” “Holy Cow” “This is amazing” (I am pretty sure that is all I said the entire day I was there). The wedding was so romantic (only lit by the fireplace it was held in front of.) Now here lies my challenge…. you all know I usually only do outside shoots due to lighting. For Christmas though I got an incredible flash! So it worked out perfect that I had it in time for this indoor (at night time) wedding. There are still a few kinks I need to work out though because the flash was sometimes too bright, or in the wrong direction. The other downside to taking pictures in low lighted areas is that my focus is off in some of the pictures- which can be SO frustrating! Anyways- despite the challenges, I learned a lot from taking these pictures- especially using the new flash and I am hoping to be getting a new lens soon!

I have been busy relaxing (hehe) before this next semester starts- so I will be putting up the things I have been doing soon.  Here are some pictures from the Lake Placid wedding:

 

Leave a Reply

