Ashley*Lynn Photography

Dear loyal friends and dedicated blog readers,

I am still working on a new logo/ brand name for my photography business. Thank you for all those who voted on which logo style you liked best!! I really appreciate your help. After meeting with my teacher, who is teaching me how to use the Creative suite and guiding me to develop my logo, we decided to ask more advice from my wonderful friends and family!!

Basically, as a professional photographer, I found that I use five main points to make my business what it is: 1. capturing the essence of a person 2. using natural lighting 3. contemporary style 4. provide a comfortable atmosphere (that then allows #1 to happen) and 5. flexibility.

What I am trying to accomplish is for these five things to be represented in my logo. Does anyone have any suggestions as to how I can portray these qualities better? (But visually…not hitting you over the head with just the words). How can my logo say these things about me better than I have already shown? Please give me very honest opinions and suggestions- I am on my final editing of my logo and want to make sure I get it right. I am asking for help because you are all potential clients and some are already clients…so who better to get suggestions from than you!! Thank you so much! I really appreciate the suggestions and advice!

 

P.S. I am also trying to decide if I should have two different logos…one for portraits and one for weddings and engagements. The portraits would be a version of logo 2 or 3 and the weddings and engagements would be a version of logo 1.

Also, I wanted to note that in logos 2 and 3 I was going for an “eye” look because it is my eye that captures all the images through my camera lens….so I tried to create eye lashes or the illusion that the camera lens is an eye….just keep that in mind while you are deciding 🙂

 

Logo 1:

Logo 2:

2a:

2b:

2c:

 

Logo 3:

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kevin
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 13:33:53

    first make the link to leave messages bigger or something i couldnt find it. lol. i like 2c and as i went down i saw more.. and out of those i like the one labled “Number 2” its has a camera lense with the words making a box. If you can on 2c make the words a tad more visible in the darker areas. cool allrgiht sweet cya

    Reply

  2. Holden Fenner
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 17:30:52

    I like the style on the first one. The design is a lot crisper and cleaner than the other two, and it has strong lines where the other two are not as strong. Logos almost always benefit from simplicity, and for that reason I would probably drop the square outside of it.

    I would strongly advise against having multiple logos. You want your logo to sell your brand, and multiple logos will dilute your brand.

    Another thing to think about with logos is if they will look as good in black and white with no shading as they do in color. As you splash it over marketing material, you may find that you need to limit the number of colors or make it black and white. You’ll also probably find that you will need to scale the size up or down to fit different spaces, and that what looked good when it was a 3 or 4 inches in size is indistinguishable at an inch in size. Less detail with strong symmetrical shapes would be a lot of help here.

    Last, I think you’ll benefit from separating the lettering and the image. The reason, again, is simplicity. While it looks good, there will be times where you may want to shrink your logo to very small sizes (specifically as a favicon, that little icon that typically displays to the left of a web address in a browser window), and you don’t want it to look unbalanced without the lettering.

    Reply

    • Ms. Ashley Eipp
      Feb 09, 2011 @ 14:01:01

      Thank you so much Holden! Great advice! It is basically everything my professor told me !! I am really happy with how my logo turned out and I def. took your advice into consideration!!! It was right on. Thank you!

      Reply

  3. Mallory Jones (best friend)
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 18:13:34

    Ashley I love the first one!! Your so gifted!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

