Visual Books

This semester, MY LAST SEMESTER OF GRAD SCHOOL, I am also taking a visual books class. This class is really fun, really hands on, and really useful. We have made a variety of sample books in class, practiced folding, and now we are working on stitching and bindings. I haven’t taken picures of the small sample books but here are a few of other books. The first is a sample button-hole book, the next three are Japanese Stab Binding books, and the last is our first project. It is so fun to make books. I have made myself a Japanese Stab Book for loose recipes I have, and I made one for my sister as a journal/ sketchbook to take with her to Italy.

We have also experimented with making papers…well so far just the design on the paper. We will soon be making actual paper with pulp.

Button-Hole Book:

 

Japanese Stab Binding:

 

 

 

Project 1: Landsccape(Our books could be in anyway a form of landscape- or our take of it. My book is titled, “The Parts That Make Me Whole.” It is about my relationship with the landscape and the parts of it that have shaped me into who I am. At first I was going to use photographs and go very literal- showing the exact landscapes that I have learned from and made me who I am. I was influenced by Susan Kapuscinski and her sculptural visual books. So, rather than going literal, I went a little more sculptural, using symbols of the landscape that represented what I wanted to say. I LOVE how this book turned out…and these pictures do not do it justice AT ALL…but you get the idea. The first is what the book looks like closed, and the second is what it looks like open from a straight on view. In the Graduate Art Show, this book will be shown opened but sitting up on deer antlers (Pictures to come).

 

 

 

Note: For anyone that does not know or understand what a visual book is, the definition is not a solid one. Artist Books or Visual Books are NOT books about art, they ARE THE ART. There are no limitations with visual books. If you Google them you will find a variety of different styles, looks, pages, covers, content, etc. I encourage you to look some up and there are some amazing book artists like Susan Kapuscinski: http://www.makingbooks.com.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 10:56:30

    I think I would very much like to be you, Ashley Eipp. Haha! You have SUCH amazing talent and, while this is all for school and probably isn’t AS fun as it could be, it still looks like you get to make and do such cool things! The books are beautiful! I LOVE this kind of art. My older brother has for many years supplied me with his handmade journals of which I have filled ALL of the pages, haha. I love it! As always, I so enjoy your pictures… 🙂

    Reply

  2. Ms. Ashley Eipp
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 11:32:51

    Thank you Rach!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

