Are you smellin’ what i’m steppin’ in?

For this assignment, Steve captured images of his everyday life. Steve battles several illnesses that he has decided to share with us: his ups and downs, his everyday routine.

“The Walk”

           I took this picture in the woods. This picture is me walking on the fallen tree. I wanted to capture the sense of walking alone; I tried to capture that feeling of being alone and unwanted. Also, this defines me because when I feel like that I always take a walk by myself to clear my head, and think to myself.

 “Cold Sleep”

            This picture was taken in the nurse’s office in Potsdam High School. The reason why I took this picture is that this is where I spend most of my time when I am feeling sick and want to get my head straight. Some people could say this is a simple picture but to me it’s more than a simple picture. It is much more than that; it’s where I spend most of my life- in a hospital bed. It’s so dark and blue because most of the time when you are sick; you don’t feel good and  your world feels dark and clammy. When you look at something sometimes you just need to look at it and not take it for granted.

   “Sense of Feeling”

            This picture was taken in the nurse’s office at the Potsdam High School. So, to you it’s a simple chair and table, but to me its way more, this is how I feel. This is where I eat my food when my sugar is low, and when my sugar drops I get tunnel vision. This is the way I see it when my sugar is low. Could you imagine seeing like this? Only a select few do feel like this, and if experienced this, how would you feel?

“The Lighted Path”

            This picture was taken at Potsdam High School in a hallway. This picture captures a little bit of me. I am claustrophobic and I have a lot of illnesses. When you see me you might not get that impression and that’s because I try to hide it from the rest of the world. This picture shows that there is light at the end of the hallway. Sometimes you need to know that there is light at the end of the hallway to make it through life. There is a light in all peoples lives, you just need to find your light to get through all the bad times.

Click on the link below to view Steve’s PowerPoint Presentation of his photo series.

Steve Bartlett

Leave a Reply

