“Something Untold” By Hannah Drechsel

This project, at first, was a bit of a challenge for me. In the beginning, I really did not like my
painting at all because there was not purpose behind it and I did not like the color scheme. Before I had even started on the actual canvas I had been practicing and experimenting with colors and brush movements. Some of the paintings I did I really liked, while others I noted to avoid. So, after a day of painting on the canvas, I decided I was going
to change it completely. On days two and three I worked on blending pastel colors and mixing
them on the canvas. Then, on day four I added back some dark colors hoping to create some
more depth, and instantly regretted it. Once again, on day five I covered it with pastel colors
and began to like it a little more. On the final day, I worked hard to create some value and
depth, and finally knew I was done when I couldn’t think of anything else to add. Next time, I
would probably do a larger range of colors, and maybe be a little more risky when it comes to
designs. Overall though, I’m happy with my work.

I named this piece “Something Untold,” mainly because I’m not entirely sure what this piece says about me. I was leaning towards the fact that I’m lighthearted, but at the same time focused. I want people to learn from this piece that it’s okay to be focused and determined, but still have fun. My inspiration for this piece was summer. That is when I feel the most carefree, yet I still have my mind set on something. Thank you for viewing my piece.

IMG_6700 IMG_6701 IMG_6711 IMG_6723 IMG_6724 IMG_6804

Leave a Reply

