“Printemps” By Alex Jones

ARTISTS STATEMENT:

Art is all about expression; expressing yourself however you want. I struggled with this project a lot with figuring out how I wanted to express myself through my painting. I did have success with making my new and improved version (the last picture). I learned that you can make anything better; even when you think you can’t and there’s nothing left to do. I think abstract art is so fun to look at and find meaning in. There’s no certain way to look at it and that’s what I love about it. Realism is a lot different and I don’t like it as much; it’s not as fun to interpret.

PROGRESS REFLECTION:

I wanted to start off with a black background because I wanted to use bright colors overlapping it to create a contrasted look. I like how it came out. I did not like my original idea though. I improved by adding more texture to the painting and more blended colors. I liked the blended look of other people’s paintings and I applied that technique to mine. It makes everything look more meaningful and put together. I’m very proud of how it turned out!

a a2 a3 a4

Leave a Reply

